Breaking up is hard to do…

23 Oct

The other day a friend asked me what stylist had recently colored my hair. When I told her that I started seeing someone new, she seemed shocked… and wanted to know what happened. As soon as the barrage of questions began, I became extremely embarrassed and self-conscious. I explained to my dear girlfriend that although I was with her for a great number of years, things just weren’t working out anymore. That’s when I realized breaking up with your hair stylist can just be just as awkward and depressing as breaking up with a significant other!

Just as in failed romantic relationships, I should’ve seen this one coming from a mile away. My ex stylist, (we shall call her TT) was is an amazingly talented woman. I began seeing her back in 2003, where she was the proverbial “little guy”, giving hair cuts for $20 (pretty damn cheap if you ask me!) out of a snooty salon. From there, I followed her for the next several years as she bounced around from salon to salon. What I loved about TT was that I could say to her “do what you want to do”, in terms of my cut AND color, and my hair would always turn out amazing. We were quite the adventurous couple experimenting from blonde highlights (in my jet black hair :-x omg never again), to the “Rihanna bob” to so many different types of bangs — fringe, sideswept, choppy — you name it, we did it!

Even though she’s my ex, I can’t take away from the fact that this woman was so incredibly talented when it came to hair. Others finally caught on, and her following got bigger. I didn’t even mind the price increase because I knew I was still getting an amazing cut and color for less than half of what you pay in the big cities. A few years went by, and she finally bit the bullet and opened her own salon. Even though I had moved out of state at this time, I would still make trips home just to get my hair done. I refused to trust anyone else with my hair.

As time went on in the past 2 years, I noticed how our once lengthy conversations at the salon had shortened to polite pleasantries. While doing my hair, she would be too busy talking to other clients. In the past, she had always thrown in free stuff like deep conditioning treatments or shampoos from the salon… This was no more. She always took her time doing my hair, now I would feel rushed in and out the door so she could cater to her “new” clients.

It all came to a head when I was living 3.5 hours away, and I needed to get my hair cut a week before my wedding. Thanks to ridiculous traffic on the George Washington Bridge, I was running late, so being the non-asshole customer I am, I called to explain that I was driving from Connecticut and I would be 10 minutes late. The ditzy receptionist passed the message on to TT, only to come back on the phone and say “Sorry you’re going to have to reschedule.” ARE YOU SERIOUS BITCH? I just drove 3.5 hours, and I’ve been your client for over 7 years. To me, that’s just bad business. It was obvious what happened here was that her head just got too big. You’re a big shot salon owner now, but don’t forget your roots, and who was with you since the beginning.

Obviously I took the breakup harder than she did. I was more upset about how I was going to ever find a stylist to replace her…It took some time, and a few mistakes, but what they say is true… THE ONE is out there, and I finally found her. Though I miss TT and what we had, I am perfectly content in this new relationship. I guess everything does happen for a reason.

While breaking up with your stylist can be a difficult decision, don’t wait until it’s too late (ie: a week before your wedding), to acknowledge and accept the signs. If s/he is consistently late, doesn’t give you the same quality of service, or you’re just not feeling it anymore, it’s time to move on. There are plenty of other stylists out there who would love to WOW you with their talent. And if you want to break up with your stylist for another stylist at the same salon… THAT’S OKAY TOO! To avoid the awkward conversation with Stylist #1 just tell them that you want to try something different. S/he’d appreciate your honesty a lot more than if you just show up at the salon to see someone else.

Remember, no matter how long you’ve been with your stylist or how close you are, you are still paying for a service (and usually, you’re paying a lot!). If you went to a restaurant and ordered lobster but received catfish, you would obviously tell the waiter that you want what you ordered! Same goes for your hair. Don’t just settle for the status quo. There are plenty of fish in the sea. *Insert cliché phrase about breakups here*

One Response to “Breaking up is hard to do…”

  1. Sarah June 27, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    So I was scrolling through some of your older posts last night, and this one definitely made me laugh! I sympathize; I’ve lived it!… the loyalty, the love, followed by the stress of moving, and having to somehow work in a three hour drive each way every time you need your hair done. I had to get my hair done for a wedding once and couldn’t make it back… I felt like I was cheating by making an appointment with someone else! I was so worried she’d find out or realize my roots should be longer next time I saw her! lol I finally ended up “outing” myself so there wouldn’t be hard feelings. I’m moving back, so we’ll be same city again, but I’m glad you were able to find another stylist you love!!

Leave a comment